The Erasmus program

The Erasmus program is a program for higher education – is addressed primarily to universities, their students and employees.  In some actions may attend other institutions, organizations or companies that cooperate with universities.

The purpose of Erasmus is to improve the quality of education in the countries participating in this program through the development of international cooperation between universities and supporting mobility of students and staff of higher education institutions.

Countries participating in the Erasmus program:

  • 27 European Union countries,
  • 3 European Economic Area countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway,
  • candidate country: Turkey.

To participate in the Erasmus program entitles universities Erasmus University Charter (Erasmus Univeristy Charter), awarded by the European Commission. It is a kind of certificate that allows the university to apply for funding for concrete actions provided in the program

Eramsus enables students to:

  • implementation of part of their studies in foreign universities and international environment,
  • traineeship in a foreign company,
  • improving language skills,
  • knowledge of the education system and teaching methods in another country,
  • make new friends,
  • get to know other cultures,
  • improve decision-making skills and problem solving;

employees of the university:

  • exchange of experience with foreign partners and expand cooperation,
  • improving their competence,
  • knowledge of education systems in other countries,
  • knowledge of other cultures;


  • development of international cooperation,
  • internationalization of education,
  • broaden the range of courses and increasing its innovative character.
  • Information about the program can also be found at: